Unique Eats: Alice in Wonderland Cafe in Tokyo

15 Jul

Are you an Alice in Wonderland fan?

If so, you’ll get a kick out of this themed restaurant I visited in Tokyo, simply referred to as “Alice.” Japan has a collection of such restaurants  with unique settings. Popular with both men and women, they feature tapas plates and drinks. Other bizarre versions include prison, ninja, and mental ward hospital themed restaurants. ( More to come on the ninja restaurant! )

I had a few hours to kill in Tokyo one afternoon, so I wandered in. Nobody does detail like the Japanese. From the moment I exited the elevator, Alice in Wonderland motifs were everywhere, and they were even incorporated into the food.

This is the hallway leading to the dining room. Some of the pages are doors that open and close as if some giant invisible hand is turning pages of a book.

The interior of the restaurant offers giant teacups to sit in, decks of cards as decor, mirrored walls, and even a lamp shade constructed from vintage hats.

The menu is housed inside this miniature diorama. It opens up like a box, and pages of the menu are pulled out of the sides and revealed underneath flaps. It took me forever to order because I just couldn’t figure out the menu. Despite my confusion, it was really cute!

I finally settled on a magic mirror salad, a sausage pie with a Cheshire cat grin, and a tuna and avocado sashimi plate.

Now that I see this picture, it looks like a lot of food for one person… I admit I got a little carried away. But if you’re ever been to Japan, you know Japanese restaurants pay such special attention to artistic presentation of food. It’s so fun to be surprised by what you get.

The door to the women’s restroom…

My server in the restaurant…

While Alice is certainly not a restaurant to frequent everyday (the price oh my!), it was a completely enjoyable way to spend a few hours.

This post is the first of a series I’m launching on this blog about unique eating experiences around the world. Stay tuned!

Do you like themed restaurants or do you find them too gimmicky?

10 Responses to “Unique Eats: Alice in Wonderland Cafe in Tokyo”

  1. Mika Fu (@350DegreeOven) July 18, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

    Wow, Mary! You always find the coolest places to go! If I ever go to Japan, I’ll check this one out!

    • maryrichardson July 18, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

      Thanks Mika! This one was definitely a fun find!

  2. Steve July 23, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

    I would love going to this place. I’m a fan of both Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass. And it looks like they spent a long long time working out all the details to really make the place feel close to the book. Some of those photos seem so surreal.

    I can imagine how expensive this place must be. But for a specially themed place like this, you’re probably paying more for the atmosphere than the food (although I bet the food is good too). I have to admit, I’m curious what the ninja themed restaurant would be like.

    • maryrichardson July 31, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

      Steve, you’re right that you’re paying for the ambiance. I did visit the ninja one too, I’ll write about that soon!

  3. A Cuban In London July 31, 2012 at 2:54 pm #

    I am an Alice in Wonderland fan, having first read the book in English when I was a second year student at uni. Learning English. But I’m not totally convinced of the woman’s outfit. I loved the other photos, though. Many thanks.

    • maryrichardson July 31, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

      Thanks for the comment! Yes, the outfits do seem loosely “interpretative” don’t they?

  4. Erica August 12, 2012 at 10:54 pm #

    This is the coolest restaurant EVER!!!! I wish I had seen it when we were in Tokyo.

  5. Jocelyn & Cathy November 7, 2012 at 11:32 pm #

    Aww, such an adorable restaurant! Personally, I find themed restaurants to be super cute! Although I’m not sure how much the guys would like it…hahhaa

    • daniellyneti November 23, 2012 at 8:23 pm #

      I’m a guy and I do think that this is adorable and cool at the same time. :)

  6. Abs June 11, 2013 at 8:34 pm #

    This looks utterly spectacular!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 551 other followers

