Peach Tiramisu

5 Jul

Have you ever had a Happy Accident?

It’s one of those times when things do NOT go as planned. They veer off track, but somehow the unexpected outcome is far better than what you were originally hoping for.

Well, it’s happened to me a few times, but once in particular, I was lucky to discover Peach Tiramisu!

Here’s how it went down.

A few years ago traveling in Italy, my friend and I hopped on the WRONG train to Florence. Realizing our mistake, we jumped off at the next stop. To reorient, we grabbed a bite to eat at a tiny restaurant next to the train station in a little town whose name I never caught.

It turned out to be a happy accident because it was one of the BEST meals I ate in Italy!

Then, in another twist of fate at the end of the meal, the waitress brought me a different dessert than requested from the dessert case. (It was one of those point and mime situations)

She brought an amazing Peach Tiramisu, which I never even knew existed.

Feeling nostalgic for that Italy trip this week, I made my own Peach Tiramisu. Instead of rum, I used whisky and added sliced peaches to the mascarpone layers of the dessert.

The result was delicious and took me back to that day that went awry with hidden surprises.

Recipe (Adapted from Cook’s Illustrated Classic Tiramisu Recipe)

1 cup strong coffee, room temp

5 tablespoons of whiskey

3 large egg whites

1/3 cup sugar

1/8 tsp salt

2 cups mascarpone cheese

1/2 cup heavy cream

25 ladyfingers

dutch cocoa

3 peaches, diced

Instructions

1. Stir coffee and 2 and 1/2 tablespoons of whiskey and set aside

2. Beat egg yolks at low speed until combined. Add sugar and salt and beat at medium speed until they are pale yellow. Add remaining whiskey and beat for 30 seconds. Add mascarpone cheese and beat for 45 seconds. Set aside.

3. Beat heavy cream until frothy (1 to 2 minutes) and continue to beat until stiff peaks form (additional 1 to 2 minutes) Fold 1/3 of heavy cream into mascarpone mixture, then carefully fold remaining cream in until there are no more white streaks. Set aside.

4. Drop half the ladyfingers into coffee mixture for a few seconds and arrange into a 8X8 baking dish. Spread mascarpone on the lady fingers and then drop 1/2 of the diced peaches on top. Repeat with remaining ladyfingers, mascarpone, and peaches.

5. Use a strainer to dust the cocoa on top of the tiramisu, and let it set in the refrigerator for 6 to 24 hours. This actually gets more delicious the longer it sets.

Have you ever had a Happy Accident when it came to enjoying a meal? Tell me about it.

10 Responses to “Peach Tiramisu”

  1. Kira July 5, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

    Ummm, yes please!! :)

    • maryrichardson July 5, 2012 at 2:48 pm #

      Hi Kira,
      It’s SOOOO easy and good!

  2. Steve July 5, 2012 at 2:52 pm #

    Interesting that you’d use whiskey instead of rum. I think I’d prefer the rum, but that’s just me since I like rum more than whiskey.

    I can’t remember a time when I had a happy accident when ordering food, but I didn’t have a bad one. The last time I went out for Mexican food, I ordered what I thought was a taco meal, but I accidentally got some fishy-type taco thing. Now I’ve had those before and they’re good, but these ones were just bad. I still ate them since I was really hungry, but it wasn’t what I expecting.

    • maryrichardson July 5, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

      Hey Steve,
      I considered rum, but we didn’t have any! I actually went a little light on the whiskey since I didn’t know how it would complement. The flavor was pretty subtle but enough to get the idea.

  3. Becca July 6, 2012 at 1:30 am #

    This looks like the perfect accident and reminiscing recipe…also a grand use of peaches!

  4. maryrichardson July 6, 2012 at 10:57 am #

    Thanks Becca! I know you love coffee… and you can even make it wo the alchohol!

  5. Alice July 6, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

    you’re a great professional for writing it, congrats.http://www.arcodigital.com

  6. Erin July 10, 2012 at 7:31 pm #

    Hi Mary!
    I’ve nominated you for a Versatile Blogger Award! Please check out my most recent post for the rules and if you’ve already received this award then don’t worry about doing it again. Keep up the great writing!

    Also that tiramisu looks amazing!!

    • maryrichardson July 10, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

      Thanks for the nomination Erin!

  7. Albana July 13, 2012 at 5:39 pm #

    i have got a lot of useful information and fresh knowledge in your website..http://www.showdabola.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 551 other followers

