Theater Review: Spiderman Turn Off The Dark

Photo credit: Jacob Cohl

A year ago, fans weren’t sure if the Broadway production, Spiderman Turn Off The Dark would survive one season. There were scathing reviews, multiple reports of injuries from dramatic stunts, and a complete overhaul of the production team. Even Bono, who collaborated with U2 on music for the show said it was, “one of the worst musicals ever made.”

Yikes! Well, thankfully, things turned around, and the revised production is AWESOME!

I was lucky to see it in NYC over Memorial Day weekend, but I have to admit, I had low expectations. A fan of Les Mis, Evita, and Phantom of the Opera, I was really doubtful that Spiderman could wow me.

Secret photo of the stage (You’re not supposed to take photos inside, but we couldn’t resist)

But it did! An action packed extravaganza, Spiderman flew across the stage and over the audience, landed on unexpected platforms, and even sang upside down. The stunts were original and high tech, and it was so cool to see how they pulled off Spiderman bouncing off walls and doing slow-motion fight scenes. (Although, I did feel a wee bit of anxiety that performers were going to fall!)

By far, the most fun thing about the show is that it’s audience interactive. In fact, Spiderman pops into random shady corners of the theater and webs people with silly string. I was one of the fortunate ones who got ensnared and was covered in string much to the envy of a little girl a seat away from me. She looked at me longingly, so I shared my web with her.

If you happen to be in NYC, pay the money, wait in line, and GO SEE THIS SHOW. You won’t be disappointed!

Are you a fan of musical theater productions? What shows have you enjoyed?

Leave a Reply

