Garbage at the 9:30 Club

I went to my concert ever when I was 15 years old, and my dad insisted on chaperoning me. Not only was it bad enough that he wouldn’t let me out of his sight, but he sat there with COTTON stuffed in his ears THE ENTIRE TIME.

I thought about that adolescent experience this week because I went to see Garbage in Washington DC. This time, however, I felt like the old timer.

It was pure awesomeness though. The 9:30 Club is a very intimate space, and even lead singer Shirley Manson herself said, “It feels like you’re part of us, and we’re part of you!”

What was the first concert you went to? What’s the last one you’ve been to?

                              Did your parents ever tag along? 

5 thoughts on “Garbage at the 9:30 Club

  1. Those are some awesome pix. I like Garbage and I know that was an exciting concert. I’m a huge music fan but I can’t remember my first concert, I think it was The Police. My last was Sade in Montreal and then Chicago. Pure awesomeness.

    • maryrichardson says:

      Hey Fly Girl,
      Thanks! It was very cool! Too bad I never got to see the Police. I’m sure that was a great one too! I would love to see Sade some time!

  2. You’re back! I stopped by here every so often to see if you were back blogging for a while and now just followed you over from Rambling Tart. My first concert was Aerosmith – age 13 – without my parents’ knowledge. It was quite the eyeopener.

    • maryrichardson says:

      Margo! Thanks for stopping by! Yes, the first rock concert can be such an awakening in a young person’s life!

Leave a Reply

