Friday Find: Free Classes on Coursera

18 May


                                              Photo credit: emilyamimu

A few months ago, I heard a radio story about a unique educational opportunity called Coursera. It’s a program that lets any person anywhere in the world enroll in online Ivy League university classes for absolutely FREE. While participants don’t actually get credit, they have access to all the same materials and lectures as paying students. What’s more, they can submit assignments, interact with other students, get feedback, and taste what it’s like to learn at some of the top universities in the US. To date, Stanford, Princeton, University of Pennsylvania, and University of Michigan all offer classes in subjects ranging from humanities to computer science.

There’s no limit to how many people can enroll in a class, and there’s no penalty if you stop participating. Do what you can; Skip a week if you’re busy. It’s up to you.

Sounds awesome, right?

So, I browsed class offerings and settled on one for myself. Starting July, I’m taking Listening to World Music. This class teaches music cultures around the globe with lots of audio and music clips to enjoy and discuss. A huge fan of foreign cultures, languages, and travel, I’m completely excited to take this class.

I can’t wait for July. Anybody want to join me?

By the way, if World Music is not your thing, check out the other offerings. There are dozens of classes including Greek Mythology, Sociology, Business, and even a Science Fiction reading class.

6 Responses to “Friday Find: Free Classes on Coursera”

  1. andiperullo May 19, 2012 at 2:01 am #

    I love world music!

    • maryrichardson May 19, 2012 at 12:14 pm #

      Andi,
      I know, sounds like an amazing learning opportunity, right? I can’t wait to see what new music the class introduces.

  2. Laura @Travelocafe May 19, 2012 at 8:08 am #

    Thank you for bringing this one to my attention. It’s a wonderful project. I will keep my eyes open for a course on Psychology. For now, I wish you to have fun with your course in World Music. :)

    • maryrichardson May 19, 2012 at 12:12 pm #

      Laura,
      Psychology would be so cool! They do add new classes over time, so it might be offered soon. I’m excited to see the new courses each semester.

  3. koiphish May 19, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

    Thank you for stopping by my blog yesterday Mary! That was sweet of you! ANd thank you for sharing this information! I am always wanting to learn new things at schools but have a hard time tearing myself away from studio work. I’ll have to check it out when I have some downtime. =) Looks like we have a few things in common too! music, travel, languages…I look forward to reading more of your posts! Have a wonderful day!
    Stephanie

    • maryrichardson May 19, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

      Thanks Stephanie! I look forward to yours too!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 551 other followers

